Did you know that the Russian word vodka actually means ‘dear little water’? Neither did I, but the excellent book I have from the library – Salt Sugar Smoke: How to Preserve Fruit, Vegetables, Meat and Fish: The Definitive Guide to Conserving, from Jams and Jellies to Smoking and Curing, by Diana Henry says as much. It’s a book on preserving – really good recipes. Of the 5-6 books I got out of the library on the subject – this is definitely my favourite. As a result, I’m stocking up on ingredients for the flavoured alcoholic drinks I’m going to be making – most of which require vodka.

This led to decision-making needed on what vodka to buy. Having searched numerous online reviews, I came to the conclusion that Russian Standard was the one I’d go for. As luck would have it – it’s currently on offer at both Sainsbury’s and Tesco (£16 a litre at S’burys, £25 for 2x 0.7l at Tesco). Not exactly cheap – but cheaper than it normally is, for this country. So I have 3 bottles equalling 2.4 litres. The check-out lady at Tesco actually joked that she would tell my mother!

I’ve bought the sloe gin bottles (Amazon) and am now awaiting some final spices that are required in the recipes (juniper berries and mace blades). Will blog more on this subject as I progress.

Food Photography, Reviews

Dear little water (aka Vodka)

Gallery

3 thoughts on “Dear little water (aka Vodka)

  1. I can’t face vodka any more after a particularly interesting evening in Moscow. Invite to dinner party of army-types. Very strange food…chicken in white sauce with mashed potatoes and white cabbage followed by banana split with vanilla ice cream. It was the most homochromatic meal I’ve ever had! The only beverages were pink champagne (I can’t abide bubbles) and vodka, you can’t even drink the tap water in Russia. I stuck to the vodka. I spoke wonderful, uninhibited Russian in the taxi home; yodelling out complex directions that I wasn’t aware I even knew the words for.
    Next day I was fine until lunch time…

    • I first had vodka aged 16 and that bad experience (let’s not go there) put me off it for the next 17 years. I then had copious amounts at a Polish friend’s 30th birthday, because they insist on ‘nostrovias’ and toasting throughout the evening. Trouble is – I and others had already been drinking wine/beer. So the mixing was LETHAL. A lot of casualties that night. It’s actually the most drunk I’ve been the past 5-10 years (and this was 3 yrs ago now). Then I had the wedding in Poland (same friend) and the only thing served during the wedding breakfast was vodka (2-3 flavours). Suddenly, to my amazement, I started to get the taste of it – as did the other UK contingent. I had nothing but vodka that night, and even though it was a VERY heavy night, I actually felt OK the next!

  2. Pingback: Preparing the infusion for Gdansk Vodka | Matt Eats

Leave a Reply

